top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Miller

Gratitude


8 years ago I read the book 1000 Gifts by Ann Voskamp. It was given to me as a gift, a well meaning fellow church goer who knew I liked books. Honestly? I opened it out of obligation. What I did not want was another feel good book to tell me that if I did x, God would bless me with y. If I said this or did that my life would be more blessed, more abundant, more MORE.


But it wrecked me in the best way. It was like scales fell from my eyes through those now tear stained pages and everything became a gift. All of it, the good and the bad, the beauty and the pain were now gifts that I began to see as grace.


In our world, so much is broken. In our hearts, so much is broken. But broken is the way to beautiful. Broken. Thankful. Graced. Grace. Thanksgiving. Joy.


You know, holidays can be hard. And if you look at our family and think we have it all together and that it’s all easy - look closer. We are also all broken. All walking our own paths and sometimes those paths diverge painfully, or crash into each other at all the wrong angles. But we just keep doing the next best thing and clumsily loving our way through all of it. Grace. Thanksgiving. Joy.


I 100% do not believe in a one size fits all approach to healing. But I do 100% know that gratitude has been a huge part of mine. Start small. Keep a gratitude list. 3 things each day for which you’re thankful.


Mine today: the smell of cinnamon, the warmth of Jeremy’s hugs, and access to my social media friends. I’m so thankful for you - who keep me accountable, offer me encouragement and correction, and who love me for the real me.


You have nothing to lose. Everything to gain. Gratitude.



Breathe in thanks. Breathe out love. <3 Rest. Repeat.

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page